menu Home chevron_right

OceanLab – Satellite (Original Above & Beyond Mix) (2004)

EDMclassics | 9 July, 2021

OceanLab (or Above & Beyond presents OceanLab) is a vocal trance group formed in London, England, in 2000, consisting of vocalist Justine Suissa and the three members of Above & Beyond: Jono Grant, Paavo Siljamäki, and Tony McGuinness. After a several year hiatus, the group announced their return with a new single at Above & Beyond’s ABGT150 concert in September 2015.

The group’s initial success was aided in part by popular trance musicians remixing their original work. Their first single, released in 2001, was the song “Clear Blue Water” which was remixed by several artists — the most successful of which was by Ferry Corsten. The track peaked at #48 in the UK Singles Chart in April 2002. The second single “Sky Falls Down” was released in 2002 and remixed by Armin van Buuren. The third single “Beautiful Together” was released in 2003 and was remixed by Seraque, Silvester and Signum. The single that is considered to be their break-through track is “Satellite” their fourth single which was released in 2004. It reached #19 in the UK chart in May 2004, higher than any other track released by the act, or Above & Beyond on their own. Its chart position was assisted by being playlisted on BBC Radio 1.

Written by EDMclassics


    play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down