menu Home chevron_right

Airscape – Pacific Melody (Original Mix) (1997)

EDMclassics | 10 October, 2021

Airscape is a Belgian trance act composed of Johan Gielen and formerly, Sven Maes. The group also recorded as Svenson & Gielen and several other pseudonyms. The two man group dissolved in 2005, each going solo. In 2009, Airscape was revived by Johan Gielen.

The name Airscape was first used by Johan Gielen for work with other producers, mostly Jos Borremans. Gielen and Sven Maes started producing together in 1994 under the alias Body Heat. It wouldn’t be until 1997 that they would resurrect the Airscape name, and until 2000 that they would become known as Svenson & Gielen.

They are known for their songs like “L’Esperanza” (1999) and “The Beauty of Silence” (2000), but are also known for their remixes of singles such as Tiësto’s “Sparkles”, Vengaboys’ “Kiss (When the Sun Don’t Shine)”, Chicane’s “Halcyon” and Delerium’s “Silence”, the latter of which was used as the lead single release and in the music video of the song when it was re-issued in 2000, reaching the top 3 of the UK Singles Chart. Their remixes have a distinctive and easily recognized style; they fade in and out looped vocals, overlay simple chord patterns on a fuzzy-sounding synthesizer, and almost always cut the bass and drums about halfway through the song to bring an ostinato to the foreground before returning to the main theme. Similar elements can be found to a lesser degree in their original music as well.

“Pacific Melody” reached #27 in the UK charts.

Written by EDMclassics


    play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down